jump to navigation

4chan white-wash article in WSJ July 10, 2008

Posted by cyberpatrol in 4chan.org, christopher poole, cyberbullying, cyberterrorism, stalking.
Tags:
trackback

The otherwise prestigious Wall Street Journal, 9 July 2008, reports about 4chan.org in an interview with its owner Christopher Poole:

“Over the last few years, 4chan.org has become one of the most talked-about sites when it comes to launching new memes. …

“Mr. Poole says that anonymity encourages unfettered creativity. But it also removes individual accountability as some posts can veer into hurtful or profane territories. “Shock posts,” or graphic images of violence or sex, occasionally mar the largest general interest board known as ” /b/ .” …

Not noted in the article is that 4chan.org has been a steppingstone for many internet hoaxes and fake terrorist threats in the past 12 months.

Comments»

1. www.baijia-baiter.com - May 7, 2013

Yes! Finally something about mortgage in bankruptcy.

2. mould remediation - June 18, 2013

Hi there to every one, for the reason that I am actually keen of reading this website’s post to be updated on a regular basis. It consists of nice material.

3. http://rapidcontentwizardreviewbonus.com - July 5, 2013

Pretty! This was an incredibly wonderful post.
Thank you for supplying these details.

4. how much is a kitchen renovation - July 6, 2013

This design is wicked! You most certainly know how to keep
a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.
..HaHa!) Excellent job. I really loved what
you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
Too cool!

5. Onkyo HT-S5500 Review - July 30, 2013

That is very attention-grabbing, You’re an overly skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look ahead to seeking more of your fantastic post.
Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks

6. HT-E5500W - July 30, 2013

It’s actually a great and useful piece of info. I’m glad that you simply shared this useful information with us.

Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

7. premium green coffee bean extract side effects - August 1, 2013

I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s
rare to see a nice blog like this one these
days.

8. green coffee bean extract 400 mg svetol - August 1, 2013

It’s in point of fact a great and helpful piece of information. I’m satisfied that you just shared this helpful
information with us. Please keep us up to date like this.

Thank you for sharing.

9. what does green coffee bean extract do for the body - August 1, 2013

It is not my first time to visit this site, i am browsing this web page dailly and obtain pleasant data from here everyday.

10. best green coffee bean extract to buy - August 2, 2013

I’m gone to convey my little brother, that he should also visit this weblog on regular basis to take updated from hottest information.

11. how to use green coffee bean extract - August 3, 2013

Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO?
I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good
success. If you know of any please share. Cheers!

12. green coffee bean extract gca 400 mg - August 3, 2013

It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve
read this post and if I could I desire to
suggest you some interesting things or tips. Perhaps you
could write next articles referring to this article. I want to read even
more things about it!

13. when to take green coffee bean extract - August 4, 2013

Howdy are using WordPress for your blog platform?
I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and
create my own. Do you need any coding knowledge to make your own blog?
Any help would be really appreciated!

14. www.udesignsweddings.com - August 8, 2013

It is not only an ornament to decorate, it reflects your
personality. Do you want to go down on your knee when you propose with your
diamond ring. If she’s not into diamonds, start with the articles in Colored Gemstones.

15. name badges - August 8, 2013

That’s something many people are sure to appreciate. Offset digital printed custom trading pins are the way to go if you need to reproduce a painting, photo or organizational logo precisely. Motivation and encouragement is the key to get the maximum possible potential out of limited resources.

16. custom lapel pins no minimum - August 10, 2013

You can help your members feel that sense of belonging and purpose
everywhere they go by creating custom keepsakes they. Change your shooting
angle from 180 degrees to 45 or 90 degree angles and keep
taking shots as you move. Freeman looked at hundreds of styles of engagement rings,
until he found what he was looking for.

17. 15 - September 14, 2013

Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this website.

It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and
visual appeal. I must say that you’ve done a awesome job with
this. In addition, the blog loads super fast for me on Opera.
Outstanding Blog!

18. Bradford - February 4, 2014

To most people, the motor vehicle is an asset which they treasure.
Documenting everything with the insurance company is also an effective way to avoid the common technique
of “changing adjusters. And, your employer might limit the amount of liability available to you.

19. hansjroerg.tripod.com - April 20, 2014

Sometimes, this may mean the kids watch television or use a
smartphone so parents can make dinner. When it comes to the printing speed, it makes them faster than ink
jet printers. These applications help locate verses quickly, and
some even allow the user to compare different Bible versions.

20. sleep sound - June 27, 2014

Wow! This blog looks just like my olld one! It’s on a totally different subject
but iit has prettfy much the same page layout
and design. Superb choice of colors!

21. myers briggs online test credibility - September 13, 2014

Can I just say what a comfort to find somebody who really
understands what they’re talking about over the internet.
You certainly understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important.
More people need to check this out and understand this side of the story.
I was surprised you’re not more popular given that you certainly
possess the gift.

22. Jule W. Clausing - September 21, 2014

It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d
certainly donate to this brilliant blog! I suppose for now i’ll
settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

I look forward to new updates and will share this website
with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

23. Brigitte K. Wilmot - September 25, 2014

Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that
I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will
be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you
access consistently quickly.

24. Ofelia L. Berdar - September 25, 2014

A motivating discussion is worth comment. I believe that you should write more on this subject, it might not be a taboo subject but typically people do not talk
about such topics. To the next! Kind regards!!

25. Jonnie K. Preedom - October 7, 2014

Awesome website you have here but I was curious if you knew of any forums that cover the same topics discussed here?
I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get feed-back from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest.
If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Kudos!

26. Idell Y. Dwelley - October 7, 2014

If you are going for most excellent contents like myself, only pay a visit this web site everyday
since it offers feature contents, thanks


Leave a Reply

